When Someone You Love is Dying

Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

I shared a few weeks ago that my 93-year-old mother-in-law has breast cancer. She starts chemo next week, and my life has become a series of doctors’ appointments and everything that goes with cancer treatment. I’m not complaining, truly. I love her, so I want to be involved.

Today, we went to a chemo class. Yes, they have classes for chemo patients, and they’re filled with all kinds of good stuff, like common side effects, sort of common side effect, and rare side effects. We also got information for signs to look for that should signal a trip to the emergency room right away, no delay, no matter what, before it’s too late. Fun stuff.

You may be wondering why she would put herself through chemo, but she didn’t really have a choice, as the kind of cancer she has destroys tissue, so she’d have to constantly have dead tissue removed.

This isn’t the first time I’ve gone through terminal illness with people I love, sad to say. Hell, I feel like I’m a real pro by now after losing both my parents, my sister, and husband. My dear friend, Bev, died last December, and I was a little ticked off at her today, because I was there for her when her mother-in-law was dying, and she’s not here with me now. You think of a lot of silly things at times like this.

--

--

Jodie Helm www.asktheangels222.com

4X Top Writer , Archangel channel, Reiki Master, Bridge. I share the messages I receive from my guides here. My only religion is Love. asktheangels222@gmail.com