The Flaw in the Melting Pot Analogy

The Archangels Speak about Diversity

Jodie Helm www.asktheangels222.com
10 min readSep 25, 2023
Photo by Georg Eiermann on Unsplash

My dad’s people came from Ireland, and my mother’s people came from Germany. I don’t know much about my dad’s side of immigrants, but when my mother’s mother landed at Ellis Island with her whole family as a young child, their father told them, “From this day on, we speak only English.” Although my grandmother and her siblings spoke German amongst themselves, there was a real push to blend in with Americans and show their appreciation of their new country by becoming American and leaving behind their German culture.

My mother never learned to speak German. There wasn’t much talk about the old country. In fact, the only thing I remember my mother saying about German customs was that her mother used to put real candles on their Christmas tree, because that’s how they did it in Germany (is anyone else picturing houses going up in flames?).

During World War II, my grandmother, who I didn’t have the pleasure of meeting, told her three daughters not to tell anyone they were of German ancestry. When they handed out ration stamps for food, she donated everything in her pantry she already had on hand and started from scratch. My mother never said, and I don’t think it makes a difference regarding that selfless act, but I wonder if she was desperate to prove that she was American…

--

--

Jodie Helm www.asktheangels222.com

4X Top Writer , Archangel channel, Reiki Master, Bridge. I share the messages I receive from my guides here. My only religion is Love. asktheangels222@gmail.com